Upcoming Events

with Thomas Murray
MAY 20-30, 2022

HALI FAIR ONLINE

The virtual fair returns, focused exclusively on extraordinary antique textiles from around the globe. Hosted by HALI—the world’s leading magazine on antique textiles—it is the ideal place to source unique, collectible and decorative textiles. Featured are an online Fair, Exhibitions and Events including interviews, presentations and films, all free to view from 20 May without registration.

Thomas Murray will be featuring 21 pieces at this event.

EVENT WEBSITE

Archetypes, Aesthetics and Agency: Adat Textiles of Early Indonesian Cultures with Thomas Murray

Indonesian textiles are known to convey messages across time and space by means of an archetypal iconography that include human figures, trees, boats, reptiles, birds and geometric patterns. These encoded images follow ancestral traditions and customary laws known as adat; cloth becomes sacred through a combination of fine spinning, dying, and weaving that creates a sense of aesthetic wonder. The famed anthropologist Alfred Gell referred to this magic state of mind as the “Technology of Enchantment,” the better the weaver’s technique, the greater the cloth’s aesthetic beauty, the more “agency” of spiritual power within an indiginous cultural context. And although we cannot hope to be able to decipher those archetypes in terms of the mindset of the weaver’s community, Gell gives voice to and validates our own experience that such cloths convey messages of wonder and enchantment to us when viewed here in the West… powerful, visually compelling and meaningful… just not the same meaning as in the textile’s original context.

This lecture will follow the themes presented in the newly published book, Textiles of Indonesia, and will focus on some of the finest cloths to come out of the archipelago, presenting each object with impeccable photographs. Geographically arranged, this lecture pays particular attention to textiles from the Batak and the Lampung region of Sumatra, the Dayak of Borneo, and the Toraja of Sulawesi, as well as rare textiles from Sumba, Timor and other islands.

Sponsored by Textile Museum Associates of Southern California  info@tmasc.org

FRIDAY EVENING, APRIL 22 / SATURDAY, APRIL 23, 2022

Thomas Murray will be live at both Zoom presentations for Q&A sessions.

ZOOM WEBINAR EVENT #1

For viewers in Far East Asia, Southeast Asia and Down Under

Friday evening, April 22, 2022
7 pm PDT / 10 pm EDT
Saturday, April 23, 2022
9 am Jakarta & Bangkok Time / 2 am GMT

REGISTER

ZOOM WEBINAR EVENT #2

For viewers in the Western Hemisphere, Europe/Africa, the Middle East, through Central and South Asia

Saturday, April 23, 2022
10 am PDT / 1 pm EDT / 5 pm GMT

REGISTER
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google